Museum of the Cherokee Indian | Cherokee, NC

How will Cherokee affect you?

A special announcement regarding our schedule and your safety.

After careful consideration of the evolving situation around COVID-19 and the coronavirus, the Museum will close temporarily,  from March 17, 2020 until at least April 30, 2020. We are committed to the health and well-being of each and every visitor and staff member, and will try to update you with new hours or announcements as the picture becomes clearer. Eventually, it will. In the meantime, thank you for understanding, and we apologize for any inconvenience. We hope you and your families remain healthy during this difficult time, and we look forward to your visit in the very near future.


The Museum of the Cherokee Indian is “A Model for Museums.” And like the Cherokee people themselves, it’s entirely unique.

Experience the 11,000-year-old Cherokee story vividly. If your idea of a museum includes dusty displays tended by a boring curator, get ready to rediscover what a museum can be. Inspired by the beauty and ingenuity of the Cherokee people, this is a cultural and historical tour without equal, one fused with interactive video, intriguing displays, and a full sensory experience. Step through our doors and discover up close the Cherokee people’s spirit of inventiveness, resilience, and will to survive. Let yourself be guided through a moving journey that illustrates who the people of Cherokee really are, where they came from, and why they’re still here. Keep a hankie close; Cherokee history is serious stuff.

Bringing a group to the area? 

Ask about packages and “Cherokee Experiences” for groups, including Cherokee language courses, teacher workshops, and performances by the Warriors of AniKituhwa. The Museum of the Cherokee Indian is fully handicapped accessible throughout its exhibits, new education and research wing, and restrooms.

“One of the top ten native sites east of the Mississippi.” - Kevin Gover, Director, National Museum of the American Indian.

“The Museum of the Cherokee Indian is revolutionary in its ability to tell stories, and should be a model to other museums that are struggling to engage their audience with their message.”– Van Romans, Walt Disney Imagineering, Glendale, California. 

Hours of Operation

OPEN: 7 days/week year-round. Closed on Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Day, and New Year’s Day.

Current Hours: 9 a.m.–5 p.m. Sunday-Saturday.

ADMISSION: Adults $12; Children (ages 6–12) $7; Children 5 and under admitted free. 

GROUPS: Group rates and custom itineraries available. The “Cherokee Group Experience” is available for groups of 20 or more.
DISCOUNTS: Enjoy our AAA “Show Your Card & Save” discount. Show your AAA card and receive 10% off admission at the Museum of the Cherokee Indian. AARP discounts also available.
LOCATION: 589 Tsali Blvd. Cherokee, NC, at the intersection of Tsali Blvd. and Drama Road. 

Interim Director: Dawn Arneach  |  dawn.arneach@cherokeemuseum.org

Program Director: Dakota Brown  |   dakota.brown@cherokeemuseum.org

Reservations: Charla Reed   |   charla.reed@cherokeemuseum.org

Membership and Genealogy: Robin Swayney  |  robin.swayney@cherokeemuseum.org 

Museum Store: Amber Treadway |  atreadway@cherokeemuseum.org

Warriors of AniKituhwa: Dawn Arneach   |  dawn.arneach@cherokeemuseum.org

Member of Southern Highlands Attractions   |   southernhighlands.org

828.497.3481